European Design Leadership Board

Design has been recognised as a key discipline and activity to bring ideas to the market in the Innovation Union – Europe’s 2020 flagship initiative. Strategic use of design in all sectors of the society – business, enterprises, and the public sector – contributes to user-driven innovation for the benefit of the citizens.

To exploit the full potential of design for innovation and to reinforce the link between design, innovation and competitiveness, the European Commission launched the European Design Innovation Initiative (EDII) in January 2011.

This initiative aims to:

  • Raise the awareness of design as a driver of innovation in Europe
  • Enhance its role as a key discipline to bring ideas to market transforming them into user-friendly and apealing products, processes or services by enterprises and public services in the EU.

In order to steer the EDII, the European Commission set up the European Design Leadership Board (EDLB). To ensure the crucial link between design and innovation, the Board is composed of 15 design and innovation experts with diverse backgrounds (i.e. business sector, higher education, designers, national and regional agencies promoting design and innovation), including BCD, represented by its Managing Director, Isabel Roig.

On September 2012, the CE vice-president Antonio Tajani received the “Design for Growth & Prosperity” report with 21 recommendations from the members of the EDLB.

The European Commission and the 15 members of the EDLB work together to enhance design’s longterm contribution to smart, sustainable and inclusive growth through increased competitiveness and the pursuit of a better quality of life for all the citizens of Europe.

Members of the EDLB:

1. Deborah Dawton, President of BEDA (The Bureau of European Design Associations).
2. Gerin Trautenberger, representing UEAPME – European Association of craft, small and medium-sized enterprises represented, and Chief Executive Officer of Microgiants Industrial Design GMBH  - member of UEAPME.
3. Andrea Siodmok, Technology Strategy Board, representing TAFTIE – the European Network of Innovation Agencies.
4. Andrej Kupetz, Chief Executive Officer of German Design Council.
5. Isabel Roig, Managing director of BCD (Barcelona Design Center).
6. Dr. Miklós Bendzsel, Chairman of Hungarian Design Council.
7. Christian Bason, MindLab Copenhagen.
8. Giovanni Antonio Cocco, Managing Director ISNART S.c.p.A, Istituto Nazionale Ricerche Turistiche.
9. Rachel Cooper, Professor of Design management, Chair of Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts and Chair of Imagination Lancaster.
10. Olli-Pekka Kallasvuo, Chairman of the Committee supporting World Design Capital Helsinki 2012; former President and CEO of Nokia Corporation.
11. Stefano Marzano, Chief Design Officer and a member of Group Management of Electrolux Group.
12. Klemens Rossnagel, responsible for Design Research Audi Group.
13. Livia Tirone, TIRONE NUNES, Founder of TIRONES NUNES dedicated to designing and promoting "bio-climatic" & "sustainable buildings".
14. Roberto Verganti, Professor in Politecnico di Milano.
15. Thierry Wasser, Perfumer, Guerlain.

For further information, please visit the EC website