National Awards for Innovation and Design

The National Awards for Innovation and Design are the highest distinction granted in Spain in recognition of businesses and professionals who have stood out for its outstanding and exemplary record in the field of design or innovation.

These awards recognize both innovation and design as key factors for increasing competitiveness and economic performance and to ensure quality of life of citizens. The prizes also seek to promote the culture of design and innovation in Spain, both in the business sphere and in the whole society.

On 5 November 2015, the prize giving ceremony took place in Málaga, with Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain as guests of honour.  

For each edition of the awards, procedures, typologies of participation and conditions are set according to the current rules.

The evaluation of the nominations is performed by two separate juries, one for the National Awards for Innovation in all its forms, and another for the National Award for Design in all its forms. These juries are composed of renowned professionals in the field of innovation and design.

In June 2nd resolution, the Secretaría General de Ciencia, Tecnología e Innovación published the concession of the 2016 National Awards for Innovation and Design:

  • National Award for Innovation in recognition to “Innovative Path” to Manuel Torres Martínez. The award honours entrepreneurs of recognized standing in the business domain who have developed their work for at least ten years and whose career highlights the pursuit and implementation of innovation.
  • National Award for Innovative “Public Procurement” to the Universidad de Córdoba. The award honours local, regional or state public entities that drive valuable initiatives to promote innovation through the mechanisms of public procurement.
  • National Award for Innovation “Internationalization” to the companies Natura Bissé and Iberdrola. The award recognises companies of any size that successfully introduced Spanish technology and innovative products in the international markets.
  • National Award for Design “Professional” to Jaime Moreno. The award honours designers who have developed their work for at least fifteen years and excelled in the culture of design and innovation.
  •  National Award for Design “Company” to Marset. The award values the constant, known and notorious path in the design field for the past ten years.


For further information about the winners of 2015’s National Awards for Innovation and Design edition please visit the Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades.

For additional information about the calls for National Awards for Innovation and Design since 1987, please visit this link.